Pfarrkirche in Strassburg, Austria
Built by
Cyriach Werner (1743)

In the parish church of Strassburg (Austria) one of the most magnificent historic baroque instruments of the Carinthia region can be found. The church is consecrated to St. Nikolaus and was built in 1432–1460, most likely by Hans Chorch. In 1464 the church spire was finished, and in 1630-1643 the church was changed into the baroque style. In this time the side chapels and the facade (1640) were changed. The west choir is made as a stellar vault in a late Gothic style.

Johann Cyriacus Werner (Graz, Austria), a famous organ builder at his time, built the organ in the year of 1743. The casework was made by J.F. Fromiller in 1748 and is divided into two main pillars, one on the left and the other on the right, which contain the Hauptwerk and Pedalwerk respectively. Sitting on top of these two pillars, two statues are placed, symbolizing the Saint Cecilia (patroness of musicians) and King David (King of Judah). The little Positiv is situated right in the middle of the organ case.

Over the years basically no changes were made in the pipework, which means it’s still in original condition. In 1969 the organ received a restoration by Orgelbau Pirchner (Vorarlberg), who probably replaced the original console and installed chromatic keyboards.

The organ has a few notable features:
– The console is built in in the left tower of the case. The organist sits right under the organ
– The pedal stop Kontrabaß 16′ has its own wind chest behind the main organ case and the pipe mouths face the church wall
– The Chromatic keyboard manuals play notes one octave higher for the lowest C# and D# (this behaviour can be changed in Hauptwerk version of this sample set)

Manual compass is C-c3, pedal C-d1 and both can be extended to f3 and f1 respectively in Modes display page. Pedal stop Posaun 16′ was made from Trompete 16′ from Friesach sample set.

HauptwerkPrinzipal 8'
Gedeckt 8'
Gemshorn 8'
Oktav 4'
Flöte 4'
Quint 2 2/3'
Oktav 2'
Oktav 1'
Mixtur 1 1/3'

POS. - HW.
PositivGedackt 8'
Prinzipal 4'
Flöte 4'
Oktav 2'
Mixtur 1'
PedalKontrabaß 16'
Subbaß 16'
Oktavbaß 8'
Gedacktbaß 8'
Oktave 4'
Posaun 16' (extension)

HW. - PED.

Technical details

Sample rate 48 kHz
Bit resolution 24 bit
Channel count 2 (Stereo)
Compatible software Hauptwerk v. 4.0 or higher
Memory requirements
24 bit, all sustain samples, all release samples 7.6 GB
24 bit, one sustain sample, all release samples 5.8 GB
16 bit, all sustain samples, all release samples 3.8 GB
16 bit, one sustain sample, all release samples 2.9 GB
Please note, that these values mean how much of free RAM you need to run the sample set. Usually you should add to them around 3-6 GB to see how much total RAM you should have installed on your computer. The values were given for Loseless compression setting turned on. Please note that this doesn't refer to free disk space.


This is a free sample set. Press Add to cart button and continue to the checkout to get the download link. You also can add other free sample sets to your cart.

GrandOrgue users, please read this page before ordering.

Full free version


No updates have been released so far.